In the 1780s, along the banks of Slavianka and on some ponds several cascades were constructed in order to beautify the park landscapes. The Apollo Cascade (not in the working state nowadays) as well as the Grand Cascade and the Ruins Cascade are the most remarkable ones.
Immediately beyond the Cast-Iron Bridge a view opens up onto the Round Pond. Unlike the constantly flowing surface of the Slavianka river, the water of the pond is completely calm. The surrounding vegetation is reflected in the watery depths, transforming the pond into a a spectrally green meadow. Inside the pond stands a steep stone wall crowned with a balustrade and vases. In those days when the pond becomes full of rain, a jet of water flows out of the wall onto the mossy stones. This is the Grand Cascade built in 1787 to a design by Charles Cameron. Originally constructed in the form of a natural waterfall, it was replanned by Vincenzo Brenna in 1792-94 as a breast-wall typical of decorative Italian gardens.
In the picturesque Old Sylvia region one can see the Ruins Cascade erected in 1794 by Vincenzo Brenna. It was aimed to mark the place where the waters of the Lower Old Sylvia Pond flow into the Slavianka. The viewing area created over the cascade is enclosed within stone pedestals with half-ruined vases and figures of reposing lions. The enclosures between the pedestals are made from freshly-cut birch stems imparting a special charm to the mossy grey surface of the stone cascade. Fragments of ancient statues were scattered about the debris, two of which can still be discerned even today.